Sell with Confidence
Read More


Darwin was founded as Palmerston in 1869 but was renamed as Darwin in 1911.

Whilst extremely rich with over 100 years of history, Darwin appears rather modern for its age due to cyclone Tracy on Christmas day in 1974.

The municipality of Darwin covers 112 square kilometres and hold 31 residential suburbs and 4 industrial suburbs.


Darwin possesses more that 20 primary schools, 6 middle schools and 5 high schools.

Furthermore, tertiary education is available in the region at Charles Darwin University.  This facility was established in 2003 following the merging of Northern Territory University Darwin and Centralian College of Alice Springs and offers students a wide range of degrees and disciplines.


Darwin Council maintain over 600 Hectares of recreation areas including parks, reserves, beaches and many more.  Your outdoor activities are endless.  For more information visit